As a child, I always dreamed of what I would be when I grew up. Maybe I would be a baseball player. Perhaps I would work with computers. Could I make it as a professional drummer? This seemed fine until college when I began to stress about careers and what degree would best prepare me. Even as an adult who is happy in his career, I still always wonder about what I am being called to do.

But there is an inherent flaw in the way we teach our children and our college students. We ask ourselves and our children to find their identity in their career path instead of who they were made to be. I concede that some people seem to made to be welders, lawyers, social workers, etc. However, our identity is not wrapped up in a job we choose but around the God who chose us.

All Christians have the same mission – “to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.” The way this mission is carried out may differ from person to person, but the mission is the same. Though there is no easy, methodical way of determining where God is calling you or to what is next on your plate, the Christian’s next step and calling will always have the mission at its core and it is usually wrapped up in simply being faithful wherever you find yourself.

This is good news! This is liberation! The particular career path becomes irrelevant because whether you are the president of fortune 500 company, a public school educator, or a construction worker, your mission and calling in life is to be faithful to God and to be faithful to what God has entrusted you with. This is God’s calling: be faithful here and now.  And you can do that without moving to the Middle-East. You can do that without becoming a pastor or Sunday School teacher. You can do that today by choosing to care for the people around you and encourage them to seek a relationship with Christ. You can do this today by choosing to seek God. You can find satisfaction in life through remaining faithful right where you are.

#dowhatyoulove may be popular, but we are not all given that luxury. But we can choose to #lovewhatyoudo and find fulfilment through faithfully serving God where we are.

So if you are struggling today with God’s calling, I hope you find encouragement that God is calling you to simply be faithful where you find yourself.

