I love the movie Little Mermaid, especially the song “Part of Your World.” I always remember the verse where Ariel sings:

I’m ready to know what the people know,
Ask ’em my questions and get some answers.
What’s a fire and why does it?
What’s the word?
Burn?

Ariel’s curiosity makes her want to know more about life out of the sea. It’s her passion and curiosity that Ariel does in fact begin to discover the world of land dwellers. I believe that asking questions is paramount to the development of our faith because it is indicative of our own passion and curiosity. In fact, I think if we stop asking questions about God then we effectively reduce God to a concept whom is placed in a box. And if we have figured God out fully, then all sense of awe is removed, thus worship is arbitrary. What is worse is when we stop asking questions because we are apathetic!

Through questioning we encounter the mysterious love of a God who is best understood through a crucified savior raised from the dead. There should be some serious questions about that kind of God and that kind of faith! And by asking those questions we continue in heritage through Israel which means “he who strives with God.”

Through questioning we encounter the mysterious love of a God who is best understood through a crucified savior raised from the dead.

During a worship service in April we held a live Q&A sermon, where people in the congregation of my church could text their questions anonymously and I would attempt to answer them.  Questions included the silly, the serious, and everything in between.

I thought this was such a positive experience, I have decided to respond to the questions that were not answered live through blog posts throughout the summer. You can expect to hear my take on topics such as:

  • Once saved, always saved
  • The nature of God and God’s emotions
  • Sin
  • Christianity and war
  • The nature of Jesus
  • United Methodist polity/social concerns
  • Faith and science
  • God’s existence and creation
  • Legalism and rules
  • Resurrection
  • Tithing
  • The problem of evil & suffering
  • Infant Baptism
  • Communion
  • Hell / What happens after we die?
  • The virgin birth
  • False teachers

Look for my posts each Wednesday to see which question I tackle. If you missed the Q & A sermon and would like to hear what was asked that day, you can listen to it by clicking the logo below or following this link: Live Question & Answer Sermon.

header-logo

 

